Flickr Slideshow

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

http://www.flickr.com/photos/80717069@N08/sets/72157630311895220/show/

I decided to photograph myself in a step by step process of how to throw a football.  I felt this could be used in a variety of different ways in my instruction as well as a tool for assessment.  This falls under Standard 1 of the Voluntary State Curriculum (VSC) for Physical Education.  Standard 1 is: Skillfulness – Students will demonstrate the ability to enhance their performance of a variety of physical skills by developing fundamental movement skills, creating original skill combinations, combining skills effectively in skill themes, and applying skills.  The skill that I speak of is the football throw.  By using this Flickr slideshow combined with direct instruction and verbal cues I will be able to teach the students the important steps to throwing a football. 

 It also could fall under VSC Standard #3 for Secondary P.E. – Motor Learning Principles B. Corrective Feedback 1. Justify the importance of self-evaluation and feedback in the improvement of motor skills. a. Create, perform, and evaluate a practice plan for skill improvement based on a checklist developed from an evaluation by self or peers.  Students could use a Flickr slideshow as a form of assessment.  Students could take pictures of a peer then watch the slideshow and use a checklist to assess the student’s ability to follow the proper steps of the skill. 

Using Flickr could also help me meet the NETS standards.  I feel that my ideas above could help me meet teacher Standard 1 – Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity by having students collaborate with each other, reflect, and engage in assessment strategies.  I would also be meeting Standard 2 – Design and Develop Digital Age Learning Experiences and Assessments by using the Flickr slideshow tool in the ways that I listed above.

Leave a Reply

