Classroom Blogs – From Kindergarten to Extreme Biology

Posted: June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

I found this section a little more difficult as I really couldn’t find very many classroom blog’s for physical education or health.  As I searched for classroom blogs I ended up finding ones that I enjoyed reading and gave me many ideas on the benefits of blogging.

For my Elementary school blog I came across a blog for a kindergarten class, the blog was called “Mall-ard’s ‘Incredible’ Kindergarten Happenings 2011-2012”  (http://mallonmessages.blogspot.com/).  The name of the blog is based on the two teachers who created it.  I was drawn to this blog essentially because it was current and who wouldn’t want to learn about an incredible kindergarten class!  These two teachers are very creative and had lots of neat ideas.  I found that the main purpose of this blog was to share what the students in the class were doing and to allow family members to see pictures and read what is going on.  To the right of the blog were links to the students sight words, reading tips, and number worlds.   Here is a link that takes you to dropbox and has a document of the first set of sight words: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15513745/sight%20words/1%20Hundred%20sight%20words.pdf.  I would think this would be a great thing for parents to have in order to help their child learn the sight words.  One post that I really enjoyed reading was entitled “Turkish Cultures, Customs, and Cuisine” (http://mallonmessages.blogspot.com/2012/05/turkish-culture-customs-and-cuisine.html).   One of the students in the class had a very strong Turkish background and his mother came in and taught the class about Turkey, read a story in Turkish and brought authentic food in for the student s to try.  I feel that the purpose of this blog is to show family and friends what is going on in the kindergarten classroom; it highlights important events and activities that happen throughout the year.  This blog is a great way to communicate with parents.  I do think other teachers could get ideas from this blog, but I am not sure that is the purpose of it which could lead to some of the copyright issues we learned about in this module.

 

The blog I found for the Middle school category is called “Write Out Loud” and is a 6th grade English classes blog (http://writeoutloud.edublogs.org/).   There are a variety of things that are discussed on this blog and there are multiple contributors who vary in interests.  The main purpose of this blog is to have students in the 6th grade share their different writing pieces, from poetry to just general reflections on the world.  I think one of the best part of blogging is the bloggers can get feedback, ideas and converse with people from all over the word. There was one strand of blogs that I really enjoyed which were based on The Hunger Games (http://writeoutloud.edublogs.org/tag/the-hunger-games/).  I found this to be a neat way to get the students to look into the deeper meanings of the book and the specifics of events and even how they might play the game if they were in it. 

 

 

When I was searching for classroom blogs I found a high school biology teacher’s blog entitled “Extreme Biology” (http://missbakersbiologyclass.com/blog/2011/10/12/nature-scitable-bloggers-update/).  I have a certain interest in biology as to become a physical education teacher you have to take multiple science classes.  The brief summary they posted is that they blog about anything biology and accept guest bloggers. I clicked on the “Who is extreme biology” (http://missbakersbiologyclass.com/blog/about/) because I was interested in finding out who contributes to the blog and a little more about how the blog was started.  There a links to videos about why they blog and I think this is what I am the most interested in.  They are also open to questions about how blogging helps to learn about science.  I watched the “Why Blog” video which was created by students (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmVJRvjTecM).  I think that watching this video to hear about why students like blogging is beneficial to me as I create my own blog and consider creating a blog in the future for my physical education classes.  What a great way to learn about a topic – blogging!

I have enjoyed these blogs because of the wide variety of topics that are presented as well as how they are presented.  I think as a parent and a teacher it would be very rewarding to see students demonstrating what they have learned through blogging.  Sharing with my school examples of successful and creative blogs like the three that I have looked at would be a way to encourage them to try blogging.  The last two blogs really show students who are passionate about what they are learning through blogging.  One challenge that I find to make a P.E. classroom blog is that throughout the year P.E. teachers see so many different students and classes.  I think as a high school P.E. teacher part of their requirement for my course would be to create a blog post about something in fitness that really interests them – that could be a sport, a person, or even fad workouts.  I will continue to brainstorm ideas of how to incorporate blogging into P.E. 

Comments
  1. ldf002 says:

    Having begun my careeer in kindergarten and remained in elementary school for my entire career, I was very interested in the kindergarten blog. What a great way to communicate with families! I know not all families have the technology to support this, but for those that do, it is a valuable resource. I do think that as teachers we have to be sure that we make arrangements to communicate with ALL families. While we must move forward with technology, for the time being, it cannot be our only means of communicating with families. If I were still a kindergarten teacher, I would certainly “borrow” some ideas from this blog!

  2. travismb1120 says:

    In reference to your struggles in finding PE blogs; use a regular Google search and look for “elementary PE blogs” or the same type of search for a high school or middle school blog.

    I also really like your idea for having the students creating a blog that they would then dedicate to something that they enjoy in regards to PE. This is almost similar to writing journals for the students but it is more fun because they are getting to use the blog. This allows them to be very creative while using technology. I don’t know how you feel about it but I would have loved to do something similar to that in class as opposed to just writing about it!

Leave a Reply

